Although not based in the countryside Fydell House in the centre of Boston, is one of the town’s finest buildings. The 18th Century property is owned by the Boston Preservation Trust and contains the ‘American Room’, which was opened by the US ambassador, Joseph Kennedy, in 1938. Fydell House is open to the public on certain days by prior arrangement.
Situated on the North Brink, Peckover House is the finest property in Wisbech.
Built in 1722 it was bought by Jonathon Peckover, a member of a Quaker Banking Family at the end of the 18th century.
The house was handed into the care of the National Trust in 1948 and is now open to the public several days a week from mid-March to the end of October.
Behind the house is a 2 acre walled ‘Victorian style’ garden with interesting and rare trees, delightful summer houses and fruiting orange trees thought to be 300 years old.
Experience a "fentastic" day out and download our ideas for History & Heritage (PDF)